WWW Wednesday: What Am I Reading? #amreading

WWW Wednesday is a meme from Sam at Taking On A World Of Words

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

With prepping for vacation and then being on vacation last week, my WWW post kind of fell to the wayside. But I’m back now and speaking of vacation, it was a fantastic reading week for me – I finished 3.5 books. Woohoo!

If you follow my blog, my current read may surprise you – supernatural romance isn’t a big wedge on my reading pie chart. But with the mention of mafia clans and a setting in Italy? I’m hooked.

With Fire In Their Blood is a simmering supernatural romance set in the crumbling Italian city of Castello, where mafia clans make the rules, dark magic pulses the streets and the sins of the past threaten to consume the present. Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights, The Darkest Minds and V.E. Schwab.

When sixteen-year-old Lilly Deluca arrives in Castello, she isn’t impressed. A secluded town in the Italian mountains is not where she saw her last years of high school playing out.

Divided for generations by a brutal clan-family war, the two halves of Castello are kept from destroying each other by the mysterious General, a leader determined to maintain order and ‘purity’. . . whatever the cost.

Lilly falls in with the rebellious Liza, brooding Nico and sensitive Christian, and sparks begin to fly. But in a city where love can lead to ruin, Lilly isn’t sure she can trust anyone – not even herself.

And then she accidentally breaks Castello’s most important rule: when the General’s men come to test your blood, you’d better not be anything more than human . . . 

What I finished a couple days ago may also shock you. One of these authors is among my favorites, so I thought I’d give this a try. I loved that the story primarily takes place at a Halloween party, the writing is humorous and clever, and the characters adorable. I’m glad I read it.

The town of Moon Ridge was founded 400 years ago and everyone born and raised there knows the legend of the young woman who perished at the stroke of twelve that very same night, losing the life she was set to embark on with her dearest love. Every century since, one day a year, the Lady of Moon Ridge descends from the stars to walk among the townsfolk, conjuring an aura upon those willing to follow their hearts’ desires.

“To summon joy and love in another’s soul
For a connection that makes two people whole
For laughter and a smile that one can never miss
Sealed before midnight with a truehearted kiss.”

This year at Moon Ridge High, a group of friends known as The Coven will weave art, science, and magic during a masquerade ball unlike any other. Onny, True, and Ash believe everything is in alignment to bring them the affection, acceptance, and healing that can only come from romance—with a little help from Onny’s grandmother’s love potion.

But nothing is as simple as it first seems. And as midnight approaches, The Coven learn that it will take more than a spell to recognize those who offer their love and to embrace all the magic that follows. 

I’ve read several books by Karen McManus, and her thrillers always keep me guessing. Nothing More To Tell releases next week. Can you tell I’m a little behind with my ARCs?

Be sure to keep your friends close . . . and your secrets closer.

Four years ago, Brynn left Saint Ambrose School following the shocking murder of her favorite teacher—a story that made headlines after the teacher’s body was found by three Saint Ambrose students in the woods behind their school. The case was never solved. Now that Brynn is moving home and starting her dream internship at a true-crime show, she’s determined to find out what really happened.

The kids who found Mr. Larkin are her way in, and her ex–best friend, Tripp Talbot, was one of them. Without his account of events, the other two kids might have gone down for Mr. Larkin’s murder. They’ve never forgotten what Tripp did for them that day. Just like he hasn’t forgotten that everything he told the police was a lie.

Digging into the past is bound to shake up the present, and as Brynn begins to investigate what happened in the woods that day, she begins to uncover secrets that might change everything—about Saint Ambrose, about Mr. Larkin, and about her ex-best friend, Tripp Talbot.

Four years ago someone got away with murder. The most terrifying part is that they never left. 

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: What Am I Reading? #amreading

  1. I absolutely LOVE the book cover for With Fire In Their Blood. The designer did a fabulous job. I just finished reading A36 by some author, I can’t remember her name. 🙂 Great story! Next up for me is The Flower Enigma by Burkey and Breakfield then it’s on to the brand new Necromancer’s Daughter by D. Wallace Peach! Wish I could just stop doing life and read! Oh, wait! That’s called a vacation. Not one of those in my future. Thanks for sharing these three books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. With red and purple being two of my favorite colors, this cover immediately grabbed me, Jan. And I agree about the designer – it’s outstanding. I’ve got Diana’s book preordered and plan on reading it soon – make sure to drop by here on her blog tour on 9/9. And thanks so much for reading Subject A36! Those characters and I had our standoffs, but I sure do miss them. Hope you’re enjoying your current read!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t imagine co-authoring with one, let alone two other authors, Priscilla. I wondered if each of them wrote one of the three stories included, but it doesn’t look that way in the book. I just finished it yesterday, and it was a fantastic Halloween-themed read.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m there with you re ARCs. I’m looking forward to catching back up soon. I’ll be reading Three Kisses One Midnight very soon and have put the McManus book on hold at the library. Three great reads this week!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I finished today… and then quickly wrote my review, which kinda sucks. I didn’t love it.. I struggled. There’s a lot to be desired but the relationships were a MESS. I think the second could be good.. might still pick it up.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.