WWW Wednesday: What Am I Reading? #amreading

WWW Wednesday is a meme from Sam at Taking On A World Of Words

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

After taking off the month of October for Bad Moon Rising, it seems like forever since I participated in this.   Anyhoo, I’m currently reading Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman for one of my book clubs.  We meet this Saturday, and I’m only on page 67.  So, yeah.  I’m really struggling with this one.  Other than the first few pages, which is really more of a prologue, nothing much has happened.  It’s all backstory.  I’m still hopeful, because the reviews are pretty good.

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

I recently finished What You Hide by Natalie D. Richards.  Friends, I enjoyed the heck out of this book.  With a library setting (perfect!) where strange things are going on, I couldn’t put this one down.  It also tackles some tough issues such as homelessness, emotional abuse, and unsafe home environments.  Add this one to your TBR!

A new pulse-pounding romantic thriller from the author of We All Fall Down and Six Months Later 

Spencer volunteers at the library. Sure, it’s community service, but he likes his work. Especially if it means getting to see Mallory.

Mallory spends a lot of time keeping her head down. When you’re sixteen and homeless, nothing matters more than being anonymous. But Spencer’s charm makes her want to be noticed.

Then sinister things start happening at the library. Mysterious symbols and terrifying warnings begin to appear, and management grows suspicious. Spencer and Mallory know a homeless teenager makes an easy target, and if they can’t find the real culprit soon, they could lose more than just their safe haven…

Next, I’ll read The Diviners by Libba Bray.  I’ve picked this up a few times, but then had to drop it for other book commitments.  It fits this month’s theme for my other book club, and I’d determined to finish it.

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

32 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: What Am I Reading? #amreading

  1. I’ve debated picking up SOMETHING IN THE WATER multiple times, but several of the reviews had me changing my mind. I’ll be curious to see what you think of it.

    I just had to DNF a book by one of my auto-buy authors who is a NYT bestseller. I’ve loved everything she’s written, but this one—ugh! I slogged through the first 25% before finally giving up. And it’s one of the picks for Book of the Year on GR under fiction!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Though rare and disappointing, sometimes that happens with auto-buy authors. I’m a big King fan – admittedly I’m a bit behind, but I gave up on a couple of his years ago.

      I’ve been voting on GR also – some of my favs are nominated!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love hearing (reading?) what other people are reading and what they think! I am trying hard not to add the upcoming What You Hide to my TBR because it looks so good but I’m full up. I suspect when the reviews start rolling in i’ll want to read it in early 2019.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen Something in the Water mentioned in a few places. I didn’t realize it’s Catherine Steadman’s debut novel. I thought I had read something by her already, but I must be thinking of someone else. I think I would like this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emily Wrayburn

    Ooh, Something in the Water sounds really intriguing. Did you get through it in the end?

    I have had the Diviners on my TBR for ages. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry I’m so late replying, Emily – just saw the comment. I finished the book (skimmed), and at book club, it was a unanimous thumbs down on this one. The issues brought up were plausibility of some of the plot points, and actions the MC took.

      The Diviners has been a great read so far! Things are just starting to heat up with the supernatural activities.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.