False Prophet by Richard Davis #bookreview #TuesdayBookBlog

A psychotic terrorist has his son. He will do anything to save him

When a rogue cult turns deadly, the FBI call on former conman Agent Saul Marshall. FALSE PROPHET introduces a28492501 gripping new series from thriller writer Richard Davis.

Marshall is soon drawn into a cat and mouse chase with the leader of the cult, Ivan Drexler. As the scale of Drexler’s terrorist ambition becomes ever clearer, news arrives that he has taken Marshall’s son hostage. Removed from the line of duty, he must work alone, off-grid.

As the attacks intensify, Saul will stop at nothing to defeat Drexler.

But the FBI are questioning Saul’s own part in the carnage. He must work fast to save both his country and his life. Can Saul stop the carnage before it’s too late? And can he save his son?

As wave after wave of attacks break, the clock is ticking for Saul.

Fast-paced, relentless and brutally exciting, FALSE PROPHET marks the entrance of a major new thriller talent. For readers of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Michael Connolly, it will leave your heart pounding. – Goodreads.com

I enjoy settling down with a good thriller every now and then and I knew I’d found one when on the first page a character reads his own obituary in the newspaper.  There’s no way I can put down a book after that.

The author has created an intriguing character to build a series on – Saul has a fascinating backstory, both good and bad aspects, with varying shades of gray.  The fact that he’s a former conman made me want to read this book, but it didn’t really factor into this novel.  Since it’s mentioned in the description, I’d hoped it would come into play somewhere, but maybe that’s for a future plot.  With all the twists and turns taking place, Saul is really put through an obstacle course and the plot moves along at a vigorous pace for the most part.

Something I noticed is the setting of this book is in various American cities and the characters are American, but several times throughout the book English terms are used (petrol vs. gas, post vs. mail).  I understood the meanings, but stumbled every time I came across something.

False Prophet is an exciting debut for this author and promises a compelling series to come.  If you’re a suspense/thriller fan, I recommend adding this to your list.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s