Alive by Scott Sigler

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something 23278532utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth. – Goodreads.com

This is a difficult review to write – not because I disliked the book, but because I don’t want to give away any spoilers, so this will be short and sweet.

When Em first awakes in the enclosed space, I felt like I was with her and for someone who is slightly claustrophobic, my heart was pounding as fast as hers.  As the plot progresses, several other characters are introduced in various ways, each of them trying to figure out who and what they are.  Alive made me feel like I was dropped in the middle of a chocolate factory, but without the keys to the tasting room – and I’m a ravenous chocoholic.  Several hints are dropped about an intriguing backstory, so I look forward to learning more about it in the next book.

With such a great opening scene that reaches out and yanks you in, I expected this to be a fast-paced story – the book isn’t very long, but there seemed to be an extended lull soon after.  I think the plot could have been a little tighter if so much time wasn’t spent walking through hallways.

Alive will appeal to sci-fi and dystopian fans and is scheduled for publication July 14, 2015.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Alive by Scott Sigler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s